top of page
  • haleylabel

Pumpkin Spice & Every Thing Not Nice

I Enjoy Some Pumpkin Spice Flavored Goodies as Much as the Next Person But, These Products Have Taken to a New Level


 

I look forward to pumpkin spice season every year for my pumpkin Cheerios and flavored bags of coffee. I also love being able to make my at home pumpkin spice lattes and pumpkin desserts. But I do have my limits on pumpkin and I am a firm believer of the saying too much of a good thing. I went online to look for the odd and strange pumpkin spice products that made me question this trend. I'm sure some of these items I pulled may not seem weird to everyone, but these were items I just didn't understand. I find that products with artificial flavored pumpkin just aren't for me, but if you love it that's perfectly fine, you do you boo! I wanted to pick food products along with nonfood items. I found two skin care products that were PS scented to see how this trend has grown. I hope you enjoy this silly fun post with all other stress going on in the world right now! As pumpkin spice season comes to end this year here are 10 Pumpkin spice flavored foods and products that made me cringe a little.

 

Pumpkin Spice Spam

I have never been a big fan of original Spam, but the thought of PS flavored Spam makes me cringe! I actually thought this was fake at first before I looked into it and found out this is indeed a real product. This is essentially pumpkin flavored meat like eww. Now if you have tried this and absolutely love it than maybe I'm missing something, but I don't plan on finding out. This is probably the weirdest one that I found the rest of the ones I picked I just personally thought were odd.

 

Spray-On-Spice


I don't know how I feel about spray on pumpkin spice in a bottle. When I first saw this I actually thought it was cooking spray until I read the bottle. I didn't even know spray on spice was a thing. I can see using a spray on spice for meats and veggies that had garlic and herbs in it, but what are you spraying PS on? It's not like you are spraying this in your pumpkin pie mix. Let me know if you have ever used this and what your thoughts are on this product.








 




Pumpkin Spice Hummus

I love hummus as much as the next person and I like PS, but I don't think I would want to combine the two. Is this a sweet and savory kind of thing? The color and texture reminds me of a very thick butternut squash soup and I just can't get past that. What I thought was crazy was how many hummus brands have this flavor. I guess that means this is a flavor that is some what popular if multiple brands carry pumpkin spice.

 
Pumpkin Spiced Crackers

Okay the more I look at these the less weird they seem. Any other cracker or chip would be really gross, but a Triscuit might be good. My question is though what would you eat with the cracker? I feel like this is a cracker best eaten on its own and not paired with anything. I'm not sure how these would taste with cheese on top or how it would mix with dip. I don't know what would mix well with the PS flavoring. If you love these please let me know what they taste like and what you pair with them.

 

Pumpkin Spice Peanut Butter

This is another one that is kind of growing on me, but I still don't know if I want PS in my peanut butter. I feel like this would get old after while when your eating. I am also a big fan of pb & j sandwiches and I don't think this would mix well with jelly. I could see this maybe on a bagel or toast by itself. I think a pumpkin spice spread would be better than mixing it with peanut butter. This was another pumpkin spice flavored item that I saw other peanut butter companies carried. Once again if this is something you pick up every fall please let me know in the comments what you think about this product.

 

Pumpkin Spice Almond Milk

I feel like the only way this would be good is in coffee or tea, but that's all I think this would be good for. It's not like you're going to want this in your cereal unless it's like regular Cheerios or original Special K. If you are sitting down with a bowl of Fruity Peebles that would not be a good combo. I also wouldn't want to use this for baking or cooking in recipes that call for milk or milk substitutes.

 

Once again I don't understand the pumpkin spice flavored snacks. I'm probably missing something and these are really good but, I don't think I want PS on my pretzels. I am totally on board with the savory flavored pretzels but, I'm not sure how I feel about pumpkin.

 

Pumpkin Spice Popcorn

This is another salty and sweet snack I just can't seem to wrap my head around. Now this is kettle corn and I think the PS might be good with this style of popcorn, but I don't know about regular popcorn. I have seen regular style popcorn that was PS and that just seems crazy to me. Out of all of the food items I put in this post I would be more willing to try the PS kettle corn, but only a little because it has 20 garms of sugar in a serving. I also just love Boom Chicka Pop so its hard to imagine they would make something gross.

 

I also wanted to include a few nonfood PS products to show how this trend has spread through different products and companies. I absolutely love pumpkin candles, room sprays, and car fresheners, but other than that I don't want anything else PS scented. One thing I can't understand is wanting to smell like pumpkin spice. Here are two skin care products I found that I personally didn't understand.

 

Pumpkin Spice Beard Oil

This isn't a product I would personally use, but I still thought it was odd to want your beard to smell like PS. I know I wouldn't want Zach's beard smelling like pumpkins. I don't like pumpkin spiced scented body sprays and perfumes and this is a similar product. Although after bring it up to Zach if he would ever use this product he did seem rather intrigue so I guess maybe I'm missing something.

 

Pumpkin Spice Natural Deodorant

I really don't understand this one! I can't imagine how good that would smell at the end of the day when it starts to mix with your sweat. I would honestly rather use PS body spray over deodorant. I could be wrong and this is the best product ever, but that's not a chance I want to take when trying this product. If you use this and love it that's all that matters!

 

Once again this is my own personal bias option on pumpkin spice and if it's your favorite thing in the whole world that's great too! Just remember all of that PS goodness can also come with a lot of added sugars. The fan favorite and OG to the pumpkin spice trend, Starbucks PSL has a lot of sugar. A 16oz. (grande) PSL from Starbucks has more than half of your recommend daily sugar intake. Not all pumpkin spice products have all of that sugar so just read the nutrition label before added it to your cart. I hope you had a good laugh and enjoyed this fun fall post! I know I had a lot of fun making this post and please comment below if you absolutely love any of these products above and what I am missing out on. Also comment what your favorite PS product is to pick up ever year and what your thoughts are on pumpkin spice season!


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page