top of page
  • haleylabel

Pumpkin Cake With Maple Drizzle

Nothing Says Thanksgiving Like Pumpkin Desserts & This One Is About To Be Your New Seasonal Favorite


 

I've been baking nonstop this fall and I've been trying any recipe that calls for pumpkins, apples, or butternut squash. I found this amazing recipe on Pinterest one day when I was actually looking for a pumpkin bread recipe. Pinterest has become my favorite place to look for new recipes and inspiration for my next baking or cooking project! While on my search I came across this recipe for a Pumpkin Spiced Bundt Cake with Maple Drizzle from Inside BruCrew Life. I have come across a few recipes from this blog and they all have been amazing! I made minimal changes to this recipe to customize for my taste and preferences. I've also become obsessed with putting maple extract in all of my baking projects after I made this incredible drizzle! It's very subtle making it great to put in oatmeal, pancakes/waffles, and other fall baked goods. This will make for a perfect dessert to serve along side your pumpkin pie this Thanksgiving or make this instead of pie to shake things up. Or make this just for fun because nobody needs a reason to want to bake a pumpkin spice bundt cake! Make sure to head to Inside BruCrew Life to find more amazing yummy recipes to try!

 

Ingredients:

Cake Ingredients


1 cup brown sugar


1 cup sugar (I only put in 1/2 cup or you can cut it out completely)


1 cup canola oil


1 15 ounce can pumpkin puree (I use Libby's)


1 teaspoon vanilla extract


4 eggs


2 cups flour


2 teaspoons baking soda


2 teaspoons cinnamon


1 teaspoon nutmeg


1/2 teaspoon ginger


1/2 teaspoon ground cloves


1/2 teaspoon salt (I used a dash)


Glaze Ingredients


1 cup powdered sugar


1/2 teaspoon maple extract (to start)


1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (to start)


pinch of salt (I skipped this one)


1 tablespoon milk (I added 1 teaspoon)


fall sprinkles (if you don't want the added sweetness this can be skipped)


Instructions:


1) Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Spray a bundt pan with nonstick spray and coat it with flower.


2) Beat together in a large bowl the sugars (if using both) and oil. Add the pumpkin, vanilla and eggs and beat until mixed together.


3) Stir together the flour, backing soda, spices, and salt. Slowly add the dry mixture to the pumpkin mixture. Beat until everything is fulling combined. Be care to not over beat the batter.


4) Pour the batter into the bundt pan and bake for 50 minutes, or until the knife comes out clean when stuck throw the center of the cake.


5) Remove the cake from the oven then place it on a counter and let cool for about 10-15 minutes. Make sure the pan is no longer hot or the cake will come out in pieces. Place a plate on top and flip the cake over quickly. If you have trouble take a knife and carefully scrap the sides of the pan to help loosen the cake. Remove the pan and place another plate on top of the cake and flip it back over again. A lot of plates and flipping I know! Let the cake cool completely.


6) Now that our cake is cooling it's time to work on the maple drizzle! Stir together the glaze ingredients and drizzle it over the top of the cake. I added a little more maple, cinnamon, and milk than what it called for but it depends on the flavor you want. Add sprinkles, if desired, and let set. You can store the cake in a tightly sealed container on the counter for a few days.

 

This cake did not last very long in my house when I made it a few weekends ago when I had family visiting. I've mentioned before I tend to not use as much sugar that is called for in a recipe. I cut out some of the sugar in the cake because I knew the icing was going to be very sweet and it turned out perfectly! The best part about this recipe is that you can use it just for the cake and go naked or add a cream cheese icing instead. Or you can use this just for the icing ingredients and use it on a apple cake instead. Comment below if you plan on giving this a try for Thanksgiving or what your favorite dessert is to bake for the holiday. If you love when I post recipes on here than I have good news for you! I will be posting a new recipe every week leading up to Thanksgiving day! I don't know about you but I can't wait for turkey day!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page