top of page
  • haleylabel

Apple Crumble Pie

You'll Definitely Will Be Thanking Me After You Give This Recipe a Try


 

This has become easily one of my favorite recipes to make every fall. I just found this recipe last year and I have already made it a bunch! I still have yet to make it this season, but I definitely will be soon. I originally found this recipe in EatWell Magazines in their October issue last year. I made this for Friendsgiving last year along with a pumpkin pie and it was a big hit! This is great for any gathering you have this fall season to serve for dessert. I also made this for Christmas for after dinner and it was the perfect light dessert after a big heavy dinner. As I've said before I love apple baked goods because I can customize the flavor with the apples I use. I don't usually bake with sweet apples, but this is perfect for a honey crisp apple! If I don't have a honey crisp I will use a more tart apple like a granny smith. This is also a very quick and easy recipe to make if you're in charge of Thanksgiving dinner. I am all for Pillsbury Pie Crusts Deep Dish, it comes out perfect every time and taste amazing! This apple pie also has an easy crumble top to save on time and doesn't require any latticework work on the top crust. So brake out the pie pan and get the apple peeler for this delicious apple pie recipe

 

Ingredients


1 Deep pie crust


1/3 cup old-fashioned oats


1/2 teaspoon kosher salt


1/2 cup, plus 1Tbsp, flour, divided


1/2 cup packed light brown sugar, divided


4 tablespoon cold butter


2lb. (6-8 apples) Pink Lady or Honeycrisps Apples (peeled and sliced)


1 tablespoon fresh grated ginger (use a hand grater)


1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon


 

Directions


1) Preheat oven to 350f


2) Stir together oats, salt, 1/2 cup flour, and 1/4 cup brown sugar in a large bowl until combined. Add butter. Pinch butter into flour mixture using your fingers until mixture resembles wet sand.


3) Stir together apples, ginger (I usually don't measure out the ginger I just grate until I'm satisfied), cinnamon, and remaining 1Tbsp. flour and 1/4 cup brown sugar in a large bowl. Spoon apple mixture into prepared crust, mounding apples slightly higher in the center. Sprinkle with oat mixture.


4) Bake in preheated oven until crust is golden brown and filling is bubbly, about 60 minutes, tenting with aluminum foil after 50 minutes if needed to prevent overbrowning. I usually set the timer for 50 minutes to start and check on the pie. Then I add as much time as I think needed. Transfer to a wire rack; let cool completely, about 2 hours. This is really good served with a little vanilla bean ice cream.

 

I'm so excited as we get closer to Thanksgiving and all of the amazing food that will be made! There is nothing better than the smell of apple pie baking in the oven. I absolutely love this recipe its a great go to for a quick and easy dessert that everyone will love! Comment below if you plan on giving this recipe a try or what your favorite dessert is to make for the holiday's every year!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page