top of page
  • haleylabel

Tips and Tricks for Keeping Your Skin Hydrated in Fall

Keep Your Skin Happy & Hydrated As The Weather Starts To Get Colder


 

Now that we are starting to get a chill in the air there are plenty of things about fall I'm looking forward to but, dry skin is not one of them. If you're like me your skin tends to dry out when the weather starts to get colder. Over the past few years I've started to learn some tricks to help my skin as the temperature changes outside. Here is a list of a few of my favorite products to use to add a little extra hydration to my skin care routine. I've included products to try for full body hydration from head to toe.

 

Face Cream


The first key to keeping your skin moisturized and hydrated is using a daily face cream. It is important to use a face cream after you have washed your face to keep your skin from drying out. Depending on how dry your skin gets depends on how often you should reapply. It also depends on how thick your face cream is. When using a lighter cream you might find you may need to reapply more often than if using a heavier cream. Thicker creams can get heavy on the skin and feel oily especially if your skin doesn't need a thick cream. It's best to try a few different creams until you figure out what works well for your skin. You might also find you need a different daily moisturizer during fall than what you used in the summer.


I've been using Pond's Rejuveness Anti-Wrinkle face cream for the past few years and I'm in love. This cream works great with my skin. It gives me the right amount of hydration without feeling oil after using it. I will probably never try another face cream again. You can also find this face cream almost anywhere. Pond's make several different formulas if you want to try them out but, aren't looking for a anti-wrinkle formula. I usually pick mine up when I'm at Walmart. I use this cream at least twice a day and if my skin is experiencing any dry spots I will apply more throughout the day.


Another great face cream to check out is E.L.F's Holy Hydration! Face Cream Fragrance Free. This is another easy to find face cream! This will leave your skin feeling hydrated and fresh. This is a great face cream to try if you prefer to use skin care that is unscented. Both of these face creams are reasonably priced! I wanted to include cheaper options because you can find great products and not pay an arm and a leg for a great skin care routine.

 

Face Mask


There are so many great face mask out there for adding a little extra hydration! This is a very important step to add to your skin care collection. Face mask are a great way to help your skin get through the sudden change in temperature. Make sure to use a face mask 2-3 times a week or depending on how dry your skin is. After you rinse off your mask use any eye creams or serums you have then finish with your daily moisturizer or night cream.


Any mask that says it works for dry skin or hydrates the skin will work well. I personally use Body Prescriptions Fresh Face Tea Tree Face Mask and it really helps my skin. Unfortunately, I got it from T.J. Maxx a few years ago so I can't find it anywhere else for sale. Another mask that is similar is the Tea Tree Skin Clearing Clay Mask from The Body Shop. You can find the mask at The Body Shop or at Ulta for sale. The Body Shop also has a whole Tea Tree skin care collection. Another option is to try a mask that says it will hydrate the skin or helps with skin that's prone to getting dry patches.



 

Eye Cream


Having an eye cream you love is good to use year round but, its more important to use when it starts to get colder outside. Eye creams are going to be the best way to keep your skin under and around your eyes hydrated. I tend to get dry skin around my eyes when the weather starts to change so I make sure to use my eye cream more often in the fall.


I've mentioned before how much I love Mario Badescu's eye gel but, this cream is perfect for colder weather. This cream is a little thicker than their gel which is great for when my skin gets a little drier in the change of seasons. I tend to get dry skin around my eyes when the temperature changes to colder weather and this provides the extra hydration I need without being oily. I apply this cream once a day after I get out of the shower after I use toner but before I put my daily moisturizer on. If my skin is extra dry I will use it twice a day. This can easily be found on their website and at Ulta. I have even found their skin care products at Macy's!


Here is another Hyaluronic eye cream to try! Neutrogena is another easy to find and reasonably priced cream to use. They have a whole Hydro Boost collection to try. Use this with their Hydro Boost Cleansing Gel and Hydro Boost water gel for extra soft hydrated skin! They also have a body water gel too to get full body hydration. This gel is also a perfect product to use if you prefer fragrance-free skin care products on your face. I have not tried this eye gel yet but let me know what you guys think of it! I think I might have to pick up a tube for myself next time I'm at Target or Walmart.




 

Body Lotion


Using a body lotion is especially important to do when the weather starts to get cold outside. The key places to hit are the elbows, knees, and shins when its cold outside. These places tend to get dry skin first at least for me they do. Putting lotion on all over is great but those are the places you definitely want to put lotion on at least once a day. If you have very dry skin you'll want to make sure to do it multiple times a day.


St. Ives Soothing Oatmeal & Shea Butter Body Lotion is my favorite every day lotion. I prefer to use a body lotion with oatmeal because it's great for dry skin. I use this lotion once a day after I get out of the shower. I put some on my elbows and legs everyday. If my skin is extra dry or I shaved my legs I will use body oil on my legs before putting on the lotion to give a little extra hydration boost. When my skin is dry and irritated I will use Lush's Dream Cream because its much thicker. St. Ives can be found at Walmart, Target, or any drug store which makes this a very easy access product and at a great price. Any lotion that is for dry skin will work as well. Lotions with oatmeal and she butter will add the extra hydration you're looking for.

 

Hands


Hands are a very common place to get dry skin when their is a change in the weather. One of my favorite brands for hand cream is Gold Bond. They make thick creams and they leave your hands feeling moisturized but not oily. A big problem when finding a good hand cream is finding one that doesn't leave your hands oily and slimy. All of their lotions smell amazing and get the job done when it comes to healing dry hands. Another tip to help keep your hands from getting dry and cracked is to wear gloves when outside in the cold!



I get terrible eczema on my hands and it gets really bad when there is a sudden change in the weather. Gold Bond's Eczema Relief hand cream works wonders for my skin. It heals the eczema and leaves my hands incredibly soft. I used to keep a bottle in every bag and back pack when I first discovered this lotion in college. I try my very best to apply this lotion to my hands as much as I can to keep my hands from drying out or to stop an eczema break out. The lotion is great if your hands are itchy, peeling, rough or red and irritated and need relief. If you don't have eczema this is still a great lotion to use for dry hands in need of repair or you can try their Healing Hand Cream!




Healing Hands is my second favorite hand lotion for repairing dry hands. This is a great lotion for dry problematic hands in need of repair. This is another thick lotion that leaves your skin moisturized but, not slimy. I've been using this lotion for so many years and I will not buy hand lotion that is not by Gold Bond. This lotion will have your hands feeling soft and healthy within a week! Once you try this hand cream you'll never have to search for a new cream again!




 

Hair Mask


Your skin will be feeling hydrated from head to toe after this post. If your hair is feeling dry and brittle I have an easy fix for you. I didn't realize how important it was to have a steady routine of using a hair mask until I bought my first bottle. This is the boost your hair has been looking for. Your hair is going to look its best and healthier than ever once you start using a hair mask two-three times a week. A hair mask will only add a couple extra minutes to your hair routine in the shower and they are easy to find at any store.


The Matcha Green Tea & Wild Apple Blossom mask by Not Your Mother's won't just make your hair smell good but, will also leave your hair super soft. This butter masque is great for any type of damaged hair your facing. Not Your Mother's is one of my personal favorite hair care brands. I have never tired a product from them that I haven't fallen in love with. Their products work fantastically and they smell so good! This scent also comes in a shampoo and conditioner combo for the perfect hair care set. You can find these products at Target, Walmart, Ulta, or at a drug store.


Maui's Heal & Hydrate Shea Butter Hair Mask is another great mask to try. This mask is great if your hair is dry and brittle. The mask will give your hair the hydration it needs to feel soft and moisturized. For a real burst of hydration Maui makes a whole product line of their Heal & Hydrate collection. Pair this mask with their Heal & Hydrate shampoo, conditioner, oil, and detangler. Maui is another brand that is super easy to find and also at a great price.

 

These products will leave your skin and hair feeling hydrated and happy this fall leading in to winter! You'll be saying good bye to dry cracked skin once you start using these products listed above. Let me know which products you can't wait to try and comment below your favorite products for dry skin!


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page